Sanctuary Battle Cry

Our Father

The congregation breathes in together

Who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name

Another inhale as I repeat the prayer I’ve known all my life

Looking around at the hearts filling the pews

Some here to feel the Spirit, others just paying their dues

Energetic young children and wise elderly folk

Eager fires believing in the prayer, craving to be stoked

My eyes fall on the ones who have their eyes closed

Whispering the prayer as if they were home alone

Full surrender, Sanctuary

Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven

I watch the living body breathe together

Chests rising and falling, like a throbbing heart

Faces I’ve known all my life, others brand new

But my heart loves them all knowing they’ve been chosen too

Hungry for salvation, starving for love

Give us this day our daily bread

Some file into the back row wanting to be unseen

Broken and tired and wanting to come home, come clean

Wondering how God could love someone like them

And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us

Scarred wrists, sunken red eyes, bones stretching skin

But surviving in His arms as the world erupts with sin

Lead us not into temptation

A woman sniffles to my right as I watch her husband comfort her

I’d seen her name on the prayer list, asking God for a cure

 But deliver us from evil

My family’s voices filling the room

Knowing that the King could come soon

Fighting for the truth and yearning for his voice

Coming together to sing and rejoice

For thine is the Kingdom

The Sanctuary looks more like a battlefield

Soldiers lined up with their weapons and shields

And the power

We are fighting together, for each other, for love

No soldier left behind, every sheep found

And the glory

The woman to my right raises up her hands to the cross

Believing even in her unbelief

Forever and Ever

One last breath

Inhale hope, exhale fear

Amen.

Leave a Reply

